The benefits of a fruity, nutty, yoghurty evening meal!

730am – Breakfast:

Now that's a satisfying breakfast!

Now that’s a satisfying breakfast!

Date-caramel was gorgeous with the yoghurt. A perfect substitute for/alternative to Manuka Honey.

Date-caramel was gorgeous with the yoghurt. A perfect substitute for/alternative to Manuka Honey.

Homemade Noodle stir-fry (thank you, Mother!) – small to medium portion

Toasted curried potato sandwich (also, thank you, Mother – for the filling!) – small to medium portion

Fruit’n’yog combo with date caramel
Satiety Level: Pleasantly Satisfied

*****

3.20pm – Lunch:

The sandwiches may not be pretty, but the eclectic ingredients had a party in my mouth!

The sandwiches may not be pretty, but the eclectic ingredients had a party in my mouth!

One medium-sized Havarti cheese, sandwich spread, 2 Quorn Turkey and Sage-style slices, tomato sandwich

One medium-sized Gouda cheese, date caramel, 2 Quorn Turkey and Sage-style slices, coriander chutney and curried potatoes and peas sandwich

Cup of Coffee with honey and double cream

 

Satiety Level: Pleasantly Satisfied

*****

10pm – Dinner:

Feels so much lighter - and absolutely satisfying - having only this for dinner.

Feels so much lighter – and absolutely satisfying – having only this for dinner.

 

Half a banana, small section of pear, a few small apple pieces, 1/3 of a persimmon, full fat Greek Yoghurt, teaspoon of Manuka Honey, small handful of cashews, small handful of raisins, ground cinnamon and date caramel.

 

Satiety Level: Pleasantly Satisfied

 

*****

I  don’t know if I will have the inclination to do this in the long-term and I know this isn’t going to happen every day, but I wonder whether, at least a few days each week, I should have this light evening meal consisting of nothing more than a variation on my precious, delicious, fruit’n’nut’n’yog combo?

It feels fantastic to be sat here, light-of-stomach, sharp of mind, neither hungry nor full, but just right. I crave nothing now, whereas in the very recent past, I used to crave a lot at around this time (around 11.30pm.) And, I’m ashamed to say, I would give in to those cravings in a big way! It really isn’t a mystery as to why I piled the pounds back on throughout the Spring and Summer.

I guess I was also trying to prove to myself that I could eat consciously and healthily even if I was eating in front of the TV or while reading. I was also trying to prove to myself that I didn’t need to be documenting my food intake on this blog in order to be healthy. Unfortunately, I failed massively with that experiment! I DO need to follow Paul McKenna’s Golden Rules to the letter. I DO need to stay away from distractions while eating. And, of equally vital importance is this blog, because it forces me to confront my food intake in a very stark way. And it is there for the whole world (potentially!) to see. Apart from water, which I drink throughout the day according to thirst, every single thing that I consume daily is detailed on this blog. [Although I forgot to mention about 6 mints that I had yesterday when I was healing. Unfortunately, they were essential. I had done a lot of talking and was doing a visualization with a patient when I began to have a minor coughing fit. My throat needed soothing before I could go on, and the mints did the job. ]

My point is, what you see is what I intake! (I don’t always photograph my cups of coffee – especially if they are imbibed independently of my meals – but even they are listed and everything else eaten or drunk is photographed. And since I haven’t drunk any fizzy drinks for nearly two years and alcohol for more than three, I’m not gonna be indulging in hidden calories that way. I have, recently, been drinking a lot of milk, lassis and milkshakes. And I might still partake a few times a week – mostly after gymming/exercise. But if I do, you’ll know about it! And I’ll know you’ll know about it! So overindulgence becomes next-to-impossible. And when I follow the rules meticulously, I simply don’t snack. So all the biscuits and crisps and puddings and assorted other rubbish that had crept back into my diet in Spring and Summer have now disappeared of their own accord. And I am craving a vegetable smoothie as shown on the sceptical yogi’s blog here:

http://theskepticalyogi.wordpress.com/2013/11/26/glowing-green-ugh-are-you-eating-that-smoothie/

I know I also linked to her site yesterday, but she is a very engaging blogger and I will continue to do so if she continues to be engaging!]

I’ve made pasta for my family’s lunch tomorrow, so that will be one of my substantial meals tomorrow too – probably breakfast. I’m very tempted to make a soup with the few ingredients we have left in the fridge – leeks, potato, curly kale, bell peppers, tinned sweetcorn.  And I’ll probably whip something up with tofu too. So that will be my lunch – and my family’s dinner – while I stick to my fruits’n’nuts’n’yog combo. Yup that sounds like a plan. I also plan to hit the gym hard tomorrow. Probably before lunch. And I want to write a substantial amount of my incipient novel too. And I’ve got about a billion pending chores to deal with too… So I have to be organized. (A virtue I constantly aspire to, yet never seem to achieve!)

Namaste.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

