Eating Consciously – Day 39 – Sunbathing fully clothed! I don’t particularly like marmalade, so I’m not sure why I thought I’d like marmalady chicken drumsticks!

Sat, 2nd March 2013

 

Breakfast:

1 cheese&tomato bun

Half a bagel with Philadelphia

 

Satiety Level: Pleasantly satisfied

Early hours breakfast.

Early hours breakfast.

 

Lunch:

1 small battered fish from chippy

Very small portion of chips (I donated most of those pictured to nearest and dearest!)

Small portion of mushy peas

Medium portion of pear, berries, nuts, yoghurt and Manuka Honey

 

Satiety Level: Pleasantly satisfied

I was one of their first customers, so everything tasted lovely and fresh and hot.

I was one of their first customers, so everything tasted lovely and fresh and hot.

The pear has been slowly ripening in the fridge over the past couple of weeks. It is now intoxicatingly sweet!

The pear has been slowly ripening in the fridge over the past couple of weeks. It is now intoxicatingly sweet!

 

Dinner:

3.5 sticky chicken and chicken tikka drumsticks

Medium portion of salad topped with cheese

Greek Yoghurt’n’berries’n’pistachios’n’raisins’n’mullberries’n’Manuka Honey

 

Satiety Level: Half way between pleasantly satisfied and full

Marmalade chicken? Really? Observer? Really? It wasn't a disaster.

Marmalade chicken? Really? Observer? Really? It wasn’t a disaster.

My improvised, yoghurty chicken tikka drumsticks were more successful.

My improvised, yoghurty chicken tikka drumsticks were more successful.

Looks like I ate a lot, but there was more bone than chicken!

Looks like I ate a lot, but there was more bone than chicken!

Still the most ecstasy-inducing food of the day!

Still the most ecstasy-inducing food of the day!

 

 

Summary:

Felt much better today. There was something a bit dodgy about those samosas yesterday! They caused excessive gas expansion in my abdomen – something that I had wanted to consign to history! But I was feeling much lighter today. I had an early hours breakfast because I was still awake then (cleaning the kitchen!) and was hungry at around 3.30am. Was asleep by 4am, but had chores to do from 9am.

Had lunch at midday. Very satisfying fish’n’chips meal. I did eat a whole fish. But it was a small one. And I barely touched my chips.

After an afternoon of lazing around in the sun reading the introduction to Virginia Woolf’s The Waves and dozing in the back garden, I was still feeling far from hungry. So I thought it best to hit the gym for appetite-generation. I did a five-minute run on the treadmill followed by quite heavy legs and upper body training. Came home, cooked and didn’t actually eat till two hours after I’d finished exercising. The tikka-type chicken drumsticks were very acceptable, if unremarkable. The marmalade&mustard ones were not really great and probably not something I will be repeating. It’s slightly annoying me that most recipes for drumsticks that I come across say that they need to be cooked in the oven for 30mins. But I’m having to cook chicken for, at least, twice that in the oven before it is properly cooked. But the good thing is that I am getting less paranoid about chicken-cookery the more I experience and experiment. Am now very happily satisfied, but not with the discomfort that I experienced yesterday. I am feeling rather tired, so I anticipate a good night’s sleep.

I want to read some more before bed, but I’ll be surprised if I’m still conscious come midnight! (Which is very unusual for me!)

Tomorrow I have a hunch that brunch is gonna be of the eggy variety. If so, I may find time for the gym. But I doubt I’ll find time/the inclination for lunch. Nearest and dearest might make Pau Bhaji for dinner if she’s up to it after a long working-at-home weekend. If so, I’m gonna be very sensible with my portions. I’ll ask her to be moderate in the amount she cooks in the first place…

 

Leave a Reply

