Eating Consciously – Day 36 – Novelty is the spice of life!

Wed, 27th Feb

 

Breakfast:

Large bowl of meaty soup noodles

Medium portion of fruits’n’nuts’n’Manuka Honey’n’Greek Yoghurt

 

Satiety Level: Pleasantly satisfied

A very hearty, but still light,  breakfast bursting with flavour!

A very hearty, but still light, breakfast bursting with flavour!

The coolness of this balanced the heat of the noodles

The coolness of this balanced the heat of the noodles

 

Lunch:

N/A

 

Dinner:

5 small, homemade dhoklas

Medium portion of Chinese-style curry with rice

Medium bowl of Fruit’n’nuts’n’Manuka Honey’n’Greek Yoghurt

 

Satiety Level: Pleasantly satisfied

Another hugely satisfying, from-scratch meal

Another hugely satisfying, from-scratch meal

 

Summary:

Another largely sedentary day without any exercise, so my food intake was also, naturally, limited. In the past, days like this would have included a ridiculous amount of food. And much snackage. Today, I had a decent-sized, immensely satisfying breakfast of soup noodles (utilizing last night’s leftover soup) that saw me through – without even a drink apart from water – until our evening meal. I made a Chinese-style curry using ingredients that happened to be around. I was inspired by a recipe posted by a vegan blogger on here, although mine was a bit saucier, sans the soy curls and with tofu and celery and babycorn instead. Check out his blog too for some interesting vegan ideas:

http://invegetableswetrust.wordpress.com/2013/02/10/chinese-curry/comment-page-1/#comment-915

The curry was lovely. Better than similar types of curry we’ve previously had from out of a jar or out of a takeaway box. And it tasted so, very fresh and authentic. I can see it becoming a staple – with varying vegetables – as it was just so easy to make. One of the best things about eating consciously is that I have reignited my interest in food which, ironically, had waned hugely just over a month ago when I was still overeating massively and eating a lot of junk too! Now, I am determined to experiment, to try new flavours and to become a better cook for the sake of the health of myself and my family.

Haven’t decided on tomorrow’s menu yet. Got loads of veggies still in the fridge, so I’ll need to do something with them. Possibly pasta. But I think I’ll do a soup too. Either garlic soup or avocado soup. Probably the latter, as the avocados need using up. And tomorrow I will definitely do some exercise. Running and/or swimming. Hopefully for a decent, 35-odd minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

