Eating Consciously – Day 35 – Lunch is for wimps! (Sometimes.) And I’ve begun a Soup Odyssey!

Mon, 26th Feb 2013

 

Breakfast:

2-chorizo-style sausages in a hotdog bun with onions and mustard and ketchup and mayo

Medium bowl of fruit’n’nut’n’Greek Yoghurt’n’Manuka Honey

 

Satiety Level: Pleasantly satisfied

Hotdog for breakfast? Why the hell not?!

Hotdog for breakfast? Why the hell not?!

Fruits'n'nuts'n'Greek Yoghurt'n'Manuka Honey every day?! Why the hell not?!

Fruits’n’nuts’n’Greek Yoghurt’n’Manuka Honey every day?! Why the hell not?!

 

Lunch:

N/A

 

Dinner:

Medium bowl of homemade chorizo and spinach soup

2 homemade aloo parathas with Philadelphia and chutney

3 small petis with tamarind chutney

 

Satiety Level: Neutral

Punchy bowl of chorizo-like sausage and spinach soup

Punchy bowl of chorizo-like sausage and spinach soup

 

Nothing much to eat aloo parathas with? Improvise!

Nothing much to eat aloo parathas with? Improvise!

 

Summary:

Decent-sized breakfasts like the one I had today keep me going, pretty much, all the way to dinner time! I got slightly peckish at about 3pm. But with dinner no more than 3.5hours away, I had myself a large mug of coffee instead. And that killed my nascent hunger there and then!

Some days I might well fancy lunch. Especially if I’ve had a small breakfast. But on days like today, I don’t miss lunch at all. I’m actually quite happy to be able to get on with my work/my day without stopping to refuel!

Dinner was an experiment that seemed to work pretty well. Family enjoyed the chorizo(ish) and spinach soup. It certainly had a depth of flavour from all the dried herbs and fresh rosemary and black pepper I put in it. Next time, I might go a little easier on the pepper. But it was certainly an interesting combination of flavours that exercised our tastebuds well!

Mind you, the next time I make this, same soup could well be in over 3 years’ time as it came from a recently bought, beautifully illustrated book containing 400 (count ’em!) soup recipes. I made a reasonably-successful spinach and rice soup the other day and might just have the opportunity to make one more soup this week. I’m eager to try the slightly more exotic soups first before going for the more mundane ones. I’ve espied an intriguing Greek Aubergine and Courgette Soup in there that I want to get to grips with, but the fridge is full of other veggies at the moment, so I’ll have to use most of them first.

Tomorrow I intend to stick some noodles – and maybe some tofu – in the leftover chorizo(ish) and spinach soup. I’m hoping the flavours will have intensified overnight and that I won’t need to mess with the entire concoction too much… maybe a splash or two of soya sauce? I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

