Eating Consciously – Day 30 – How shopping dulls the appetite!

Wed, 20th Feb 2013

 

Breakfast:

Small portion of veggie noodles

Medium portion of egg fried rice

Small portion of fruits and nuts

1 mug of coffee

 

Satiety Level: Pleasantly satisfied

Breakfast a la Chinoise!

Breakfast a la Chinoise!

I am more addicted to this than I was to crumpets! That's saying something!

I am more addicted to this than I was to crumpets! That’s saying something!

 

Lunch:

N/A

 

Dinner:

1 large gourmet hot dog with mustard onions

1/5 butternut squash, veggies and goat’s cheese panini

 

Satiety Level: Neutral

Dog day evening!

Dog day evening!

Remains of a panini!

Remains of a panini!

 

 

Late Snack:

Medium portion of fruits and nuts and Greek Yoghurt and Manuka Honey

 

Satiety Level: Neutral

This is my true comfort food.

This is my true comfort food.

 

 

 

Summary:

A day of very light food intake and moderate shopping and plenty of walking in near-freezing temperatures! We went, as we occasionally do, to Bicester Village for a day of browsing and, occasional, purchasing. It’s an hour-and-a-half drive away and I knew we weren’t going to get going till around 1pm, so I made sure I had a moderately filling breakfast of noodle and rice leftovers and a bit of fruit’n’nut. That was at about 10am. Once we got to Bicester – at about 2.30pm, nearest and dearest was pretty hungry, so grabbed a quick meal at Pret A Manger. I just sat there without eating a crumb and without drinking anything either. I simply wasn’t hungry then. In times gone by, I would have taken the opportunity to pig out on a wholly unnecessary meal simply because Pret is a, relative,  novelty for us and simply because I would have found it difficult to abstain while another was eating in front of me! Neither were very good reasons to eat. But then, in those days, I never needed any reason at all to guzzle food at every available opportunity!

Anyhow, we then had a 3.5-hour trrek around Bicester in wintry conditions. I had a fairly heavy shirt on, but was still, easily, the most underdressed person shopping there today! I’ve gotten used to that. I like the idea of thermogenesis and allowing my body to adapt to cold rather than wrapping myself up like an Eskimo whenever there is a hint of chill in the air! Besides, I find big coats (coats of any sort, really) to be cumbersome. I prefer the freedom of relatively loose clothes!

Anyway, come around 6.30pm, we were done for the day and, before heading home, decided to have dinner. The hotdog I had was delicious. But really just a substantial snack. Even so, I didn’t feel the need to eat anything much else at that point (apart from a few mouthfuls of nearest and dearest’s panini.)

So I drove home in a state of neutrality on the hunger scale. By the time we got back home, I was feeling quite hungry again, so I ate a reasonable bowl of my usual fruit and nut and yoghurt. I am now feeling incredibly light. A touch virtuous and, in spite of my state of neutrality, more than happy with my eating today. I took my own advice about skipping lunch today and am very pleased that I did.

We have plenty of leftovers in the fridge which will serve us well tomorrow. And I plan to hit the gym if my cold allows me to. If it doesn’t, I won’t fret. I’ll just eat lighter than I would on a high-exercise day.

2 comments on “Eating Consciously – Day 30 – How shopping dulls the appetite!

  1. Carrie Rubin says:

    You have an interesting blog theme here. I imagine this format would be very helpful for those trying to improve their eating habits. Thanks for stopping by my site yesterday. I appreciate it!

    • cheeriofatty says:

      Thank you for your support and kind words! Obviously, I started writing the blog for myself, but it will be immensely satisfying if others can be helped/inspired/encouraged to get healthier too!

Leave a Reply

