Eating Consciously – Day 28 – Restraint at the chippy and I’m still ill, btw!

Mon, 18th Feb

 

Breakfast:

N/A

 

Lunch:

1/3 large battered cod

Small portion of chips

Small portion of mushy peas

 

Satiety Level: Pleasantly satisfied

When I eat it this sensibly, it doesn't feel like junk food!

When I eat it this sensibly, it doesn’t feel like junk food!

 

Dinner:

Medium portion of homemade veggie noodles

Medium portion of deep fried tofu with green pepper, ginger, garlic and spring onion

Medium portion of Greek Yoghurt with fruit, nuts and Manuka Honey

 

Satiety level: Pleasantly satisfied

I could eat tofu and noodles every meal for a month without getting bored!

I could eat tofu and noodles every meal for a month without getting bored!

I could probably eat a larger portion of this as my evening meal for a month without getting bored!

I could probably eat a larger portion of this as my evening meal for a month without getting bored!

 

 

 

Summary:

I’m ill. So all bets are off! Right? Wrong! If anything, I ate less today than I have in a while! I toyed with the idea of going to the gym. But that would have been a mistake considering the fact that my body is fighting a virus and the last thing it needs right now is extra stress. So I did a lot resting instead. And only a modest amount of eating.

I am becoming a dab hand at limiting my food intake when we get a takeaway form the chip shop. This time, I ate probably closer to a fifth of what I have done before starting to eat consciously! And I was perfectly happy to do so! And I didn’t walk around with a gas-filled, distended abdominal protuberance where my inoffensive belly should be! I’m loving the fact that food is no longer making me feel bad physically. I’m loving the fact that I’m no longer having to gorge myself to feel full and satisfied! I’m loving the fact that I can be some distance away from full and still feel satisfied!

Dinner was a self-made noodle and tofu combo. Took an age. (Had to deep fry the excessively soft ‘firm’ tofu before anything else.) And, at the end of it, instead of wolfing down 2-3 plates full of the stuff, I simply served myself less than a plateful, enjoyed every last bit of it, then stopped. (And I had plenty of room left over for a blissful Greek Yoghurt, fruit and nut and Manuka pudding.)

So, yes, just in case I haven’t been clear enough, I am ill. But I feel great in spite of all that. And I have some tasty noodle leftovers to look forward to tomorrow, so I’m gonna sleep with a smile on my face! I might also make some Corn Soup for the family. Or even try what looks like a lovely minestrone soup courtesy of a fellow blogger on here whose Italian-themed recipes look lovely:

http://minnascookingblog.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

