Eating Consciously – Day 26 – Conscious eating when grumpy!

16th Feb 2013

Breakfast:

N/A

Lunch:

2 vegetable samosas and sweet chutney

1 crusty roll with Harissa in herbed olive oil

Medium portion of cheese-filled peppers, sundried tomatoes and mozarella balls

5 small asparagus spears

Medium portion of mixed fruit and nuts (2/3 of that pictured)

Satiety Level: Pleasantly satisfied

Two samosas. If I'm gonna eat 'junk' food, it may as well have some nutrition!

Two samosas. If I’m gonna eat ‘junk’ food, it may as well have some nutrition!

Even more gorgeous harissa paste in the oil. And a few spears of asparagus too. (Admittedly from a jar.) Yum.

Even more gorgeous harissa paste in the oil. And a few spears of asparagus too. (Admittedly from a jar.) Yum.

I want fruit to be a staple. Not an optional extra!

I want fruit to be a staple. Not an optional extra!

Dinner:

Medium portion of cucumber and avocado salad

Medium portion of homemade matar paneer

Medium portion of aloo sabzi

1.5 pieces of handwo (Indian savoury cake)

2 small parathas

Small portion of fruits and nuts

Satiety Level: Full

Maybe, slightly overserved myself with a spoon or two extra of each of the curries!

Maybe, slightly overserved myself with a spoon or two extra of each of the curries!

Summary:

Fighting off an incipient cold. Feeling a little bit grumpy about that. Bodyache and general tiredness prevented me from going to the gym like I planned. Damned if it’s going to affect my eating consciously, though!

Another day of enjoying every single mouthful. It never gets tedious or difficult sticking to that rule!

2 comments on “Eating Consciously – Day 26 – Conscious eating when grumpy!

  1. I mentioned your advice to my husband and he seems to be intrigued to try also. Going to see if I pick up the book soon 🙂

    • cheeriofatty says:

      Well, there are two books really. I Can Make You Thin and Hypnotic Gastric Band. An amalgamation of both is probably best. And the Four Golden Rules are the most important. Depending on you and your husband, I’d say the hypnosis stuff is secondary or even unnecessary. I’ve just vowed to stick to the rules. I’ve now managed to do so for a month. And I still haven’t touched a potato chip (crisp as we call them over here) or a chocolate bar or a biscuit (cookie!) or a cake or any kind of snack outside of my main meals (which have never numbered more than 3 in a day.) I am relishing every single thing I eat and every single mouthful that I eat. It’s unbelievable and unbelievably easy!
      For me, eating every single meal away from the TV has been the best thing I could have done. (And away from reading material and radio and music and any other distraction. Even the meals with my family have minimal conversation. I have had a few meals in the company of friends. But, even there, I have managed to listen to my body’s satiety signals brilliantly. It’s worth training yourself to understand the various stages of hunger as shown in Paul McKenna’s Hunger Scale. Once you master that (which won’t take more than a handful of meals following the Four Golden Rules) you will be well on your way to a wonderful relationship with food altogether!
      Good luck and do keep me posted on how you guys progress!

Leave a Reply

