Eating Consciously – Day 23 – Listening to your body!

Wed, 13th Feb 2013

 

Breakfast:

Crusty bread and Harissa and herbed olive oil

Medium portion of quinoa khichdi

Medium portion of pasta

 

Satiety Level: Pleasantly satisfied

Variety is the spice of breakfast!

Variety is the spice of breakfast!

 

Lunch:

Tesco cafe chicken korma with chips

3 small mouthfuls of baked potato with cheese and beans

 

Satiety Level: Pleasantly satisfied

Don't panic! I only ate 3, small  mouthfuls of this surprisingly melt-in-the-mouth potato

Don’t panic! I only ate 3, small mouthfuls of this surprisingly melt-in-the-mouth potato

Tastier than several kormas I've had in much more upmarket restaurants!Yes! I know it's upside down! No! I don't know why!

Tastier than several kormas I’ve had in much more upmarket restaurants!
Yes! I know it’s upside down! No! I don’t know why!

 

Dinner:

5 small puris

Medium portion of quinoa khichdi

Medium portion of Paneer Jalfrezi

Medium portion of Turkey Curry

Medium portion of Greek yoghurt with raisins, nuts, Manuka Honey and mulberries

 

Satiety Level: Half way between pleasantly satisfied and full

Next-day curry heaven!

Next-day curry heaven!

 

Summary:

A day of no (dedicated, gym/pool-based) exercise and three sqaure meals. I know that some people think I have been eating a lot since I started to eat consciously. And I ate very well today, certainly. But I am following Paul McKenna’s Four Golden Rules to the letter and, therefore, only eating when I am hungry and only eating until I am full. (Or less.)

I had two opportunities to go to the gym today. Both times I decided not to. In the morning, because I knew I had to pick up nearest and dearest for a luncheon date and was pushed for time. In the evening because, by then, I was seriously achey from the previous days’ gym workouts. My body was telling me to rest and recuperate rather than take it in for another pounding! So I listened to my body. (Something I am becoming more and more adept at doing.) And I’m feeling unhurty and sprightly now, just before bed.

But tomorrow, after healing in the morning, I am determined to hit the gym. If I’m feeling strong, I might do a proper upper body weights workout (because the one on the weekend was aborted.) If I’m still feeling a bit tired and achey, I’ll stick to some running.

Leave a Reply

