Eating Consciously – Day 15 – How low can you go?!

Breakfast:

Medium portion of baguette with herbed olive oil

Small portion of chilli olives

Small portion of jalapeno hummus

Small bowl of vegetable and pasta soup

Satiety Level: Neutral

Moderate bread consumption suits me fine.

Moderate bread consumption suits me fine.

Lunch:

Mug of homemade tomato soup

Medium portion of homemade curry

2 rotis

Satiety Level: Neutral

Very modest post-cardio meal.

Very modest post-cardio meal.

Dinner:

Large portion of rice noodles

3 Slices of garlic bread

Small portion of fruit (a few mouthfuls of the bowl pictured)

Satiety Level: Between neutral and pleasingly satisfied

I'd have noodles in every single meal if I could!

I’d have noodles in every single meal if I could!

Summary:

I’m not counting calories, but I know that yesterday must have been a good day for calorie deficit because I felt, basically, in a state of neutrality on Paul McKenna’s hunger scale all day!

Boosted from yesterday’s good news, I intended to eat less than I have even in the previous two weeks. I was curious to know whether I could happily stop eating my meals once I got to neutral. The answer is an emphatic YES! I used to think that the purpose of a meal (or a snack, or a midnight snack or a post-workout meal) was to eat as much as possible until I literally couldn’t stand forcing down any other food! Before now I have, only very rarely, stopped eating when I was merely full. And when I did, I felt cheated. I felt as if I had sacrificed something! I was not satisfied with such meals. Now, I have learned, I can eat a really very small amount at one sitting and still feel entirely happy and satisfied (I am even satisfied when I am at neutral!) In fact, I can have an entire day of eating (relatively) very little and still be perfectly happy and not craving food at all.

I had a fairly active day, too. Which included a 20-minute run in the gym at 7.3 speed. Possibly because it had been so long since I had had breakfast, the last few minutes of the run felt quite difficult. But I kept going and was very happy that I had squeezed this cardio session in, even when I had a tight schedule. Again, I did some major relaxing in the studio afterwards. Again, it felt great to do it at that time.

I plan on running like this – for 20mins initially, before increasing the time, on as many days as I possibly can. I’m hoping it will supercharge my weightloss. Especially as I no longer have the mentality that I have to use copious amounts of food to help repair my damaged muscles after exercise!

Today (Wed) is going to be a long day without too much time for meals until evening. Let’s see how I cope with that and whether I get the compulsion to overeat to compensate. I already know the answer to that one – no!  I expect to cope swimmingly!

Leave a Reply

