Eating Consciously – Day 13 – I’m now craving homemade, healthy food as a matter of course!

Breakfast:

2 crumpets – one with butter&Marmite, one with butter&Manuka Honey

1 small cheddar, Philadelphia and tomato chilli sandwich

1 cup of coffee

 

Satiety Level: Pleasingly satisfied

My mate Marmite.My BFF Crumpet. (x2)

My mate Marmite.
My BFF Crumpet. (x2)

Lunch:

Small portion of Vegetable Biryani

Small portion of Paneer Masala

Small portion of Bombay Potatoes

Small portion of King Prawn Curry sauce

1 samosa

1 pakora

Medium portion of avocado and cucumber and olive salad

Medium portion of plain yoghurt with sugar (needed for its firefighting properties!)

 

Satiety Level: Full

 

Avocado and Cucumber salad to extinguish the spice fire!

Avocado and Cucumber salad to extinguish the spice fire!

 

Dinner:

 

Very small portion of Vegetable Biryani

Very small portion of Paneer Masala

Very small portion of King Prawn Curry sauce

Half samosa

Half pakora

Half breaded basa fish (Young’s from frozen)

Large bowl of homemade vegetable and pasta soup

Medium portion of fruit and nuts (half of bowl pictured)

 

Satiety Level: Full

 

Law of diminishing returns!

Law of diminishing returns!

 

Soupy twist! (Early 90s Fry and Laurie reference!)

Soupy twist! (Early 90s Fry and Laurie reference!)

 

I never tire of this fruit (and nut) salad

I never tire of this fruit (and nut) salad

 

Summary:

By far, the most satisfying things I ate today were the fruit’n’nut salad and the homemade vegetable&pasta soup. My body actively welcomes such wholesome fare. Whereas it merely tolerates the heavy duty Indian takeaway. (Which was most satisfying when fresh. And provided diminishing returns through lunch and dinner today.) The breaded fish was ok, if a little bland. And I always enjoy my breakfast crumpets, but they’re not my body’s favourites by any means.

Of course, we will be eating takeaways again. (Largely at weekends.) But during the week, I plan to feed us mostly homemade food. Which, if I can make it as tongue-ticklingly tasty as tonight’s soup, will help me stay eating well and healthily into my third week of eating consciously.

It’s still unreal how quickly I was able to totally transform my bad eating habits of a lifetime. (Literally overnight!) In the morning I have my first weigh-in and meeting with my weightloss counsellor after two weeks. I’ve got a lot to tell her!

Whatever the scales say (although it will be a miracle if they don’t give me some good news!) I know that my belly is smaller. I’m feeling lighter on my feet, I’m having to tighten my belt (and still my jeans/trousers are loose!) and I have consumed around a third of what I would normally have consumed these past two weeks.

 

 

Leave a Reply

