Eating Consciously – Day 11 – How to eat consciously even when you’re having a takeaway from the chippy!

Breakfast:

1 rectangular crumpet with butter and Manuka Honey

1 rectangular crumpet with butter and Philadelphia

Small portion of homemade veggie pasta

1 cup of coffee

Satiety Level: Full

The hungriest I've been so far at breakfast!

The hungriest I’ve been so far at breakfast!

Lunch:

Medium serving of Chinese style corn soup

Medium portion of buttered baguette and olives (I left most of the tiniest olives)

1.5 pieces of handwo (savoury Indian cake) with sweet chilli sauce

Medium portion of dhokla with tomato chilli sauce

Small portion of fruit (I left most of the bowl pictured)

Satiety Level: Full

Again, pretty hungry come lunchtime.

Again, pretty hungry come lunchtime.

Dinner:

Donner meat&salad in half a large bap

Small portion of chips

Small portion of (slightly tired, but still flavoursome!) fruit and nuts

Satiety Level: Between pleasingly satisfied and full

A chippy takeaway doesn't  have to sound the death knell for conscious eating!

A chippy takeaway doesn’t have to sound the death knell for conscious eating!

Very modest seconds. (The chips are leftovers from my firsts!)

Very modest seconds. (The chips are leftovers from my firsts!)

A bit of fruit nicely balances all that greasiness!

A bit of fruit nicely balances all that greasiness!

Summary:

Another truly heartwarming day! Even though it felt like I ate more than I have done on any other day since starting to eat consciously, I still managed to stop by the time I was full every time. So I have still managed to avoid overeating for nearly two weeks now! Whereas for (at least) the previous thirty-odd years of my life, I doubt I’ve ever gone more than a day or two without overeating at some point!

I did feel rather peckish at breakfast, hence the doubling of the crumpet quotient! And I did fancy some Philadelphia soft cheese on one of those crumpets. And I really fancied the leftover pasta from the previous night. So I followed the rule and ate what I truly wanted, not what I thought I should eat! And, y’know what? I don’t feel even slightly guilty about it! (As I would surely do, and as I would surely be expected to do, if I were on a diet!)

Lunch was, again, a smorgasbord of leftover bits and bobs which was amazingly satisfying without being humongous.

Dinner was a revelation! We had food from our lovely local chippy, but the bill came to about half of what it has done in the (very recent!) past. (£6.10 to be precise!) I knew that was a very encouraging sign even before I got home.

Before eating consciously, I would have happily munched through 90 per cent of a large donner kebab, a fistful or more of chips and, at least, half a battered cod. If I was feeling especially greedy, I might have added a bit of battered sausage or chicken nuggets or potato fritters in there too! And I would, probably, have had a chocolate bar or a big portion of fruit salad to top it all off! Sheesh! Even writing all that down has made me feel queasy!

But this time, I ate a relatively tiny amount. (Which still managed to more than satisfy me!) In this case, I’d say my portion size was a quarter to a fifth of what it has been previously! That is a huge drop! And it is a stark reminder of just how much of a fatty I had become mentally! (As well as physically!) And the great thing is that I haven’t compromised on what I fancy, but I also didn’t leave my stomach ridiculously bloated afterwards!

In the past, there have been times when I have (massively over)eaten from the chippy twice in a week. This is because of its great convenience and owing to a lack of sufficient planning. But I don’t think I’d be able to stomach more than a single trip there in a week now. And while I did enjoy the food, I definitely didn’t enjoy it as much as I’ve enjoyed the vast majority of the home-cooked food I’ve eaten these past two weeks.

Leave a Reply

