Eating Consciously – Day 7 – Pancakes, who’s Russell Hoban? and why hasn’t Coca Cola reached Emmerdale?!

Breakfast:

2 thin lemon and sugar pancakes

Small bowl of mixed raw nuts (cashews, walnuts, almonds)

1 large crumpet with Marmite

Cup of coffee

Satiety Level: Pleasantly satisfied

Ok, nearest and dearest made the batter last night. But I carried out the tricky procedure with the frying pan to perfection!

Ok, nearest and dearest made the batter last night. But I carried out the tricky procedure with the frying pan to perfection!

I've not yet met a crumpet I didn't like

I’ve not yet met a crumpet I didn’t like

Lunch:

Medium portion of vegetable rice

Medium portion of bhindi

Medium portion of potato curry

Small portion of channa

1 Persimmon (perfectly ripe, heavenly sweetness!)

Satiety Level: Full

Leftovers and the most perfect persimmon I've ever had

Leftovers and the most perfect persimmon I’ve ever had

Dinner:

Chinese stir-fry veggie soba  noodles

Medium portion of stir-fried tofu with garlic, ginger, onion

Cup of coffee

Satiety Level: Half way between neutral and pleasantly satisfied

I've never met a noodle I didn't like. And I get on swimmingly with most tofus too!

I’ve never met a noodle I didn’t like. And I get on swimmingly with most tofus too!

Summary:

Today’s lunch was the most filling meal I have had in a week. I could easily have left food on my plate and/or sacrificed the persimmon. But since the latter was, by far, the best I have ever had the pleasure of savouring, I’m not beating myself up. Besides, Full is still an acceptable satiety level on Paul McKenna‘s Hunger Scale. It was just a few mouthfuls more than I have been having at each meal since I began this new regime (which really, truly, doesn’t feel like a regime at all!)

I haven’t had a chance to exercise today so far, but I intend to do some walking’n’reading round the house after I finish this post. (Probably for about an hour.) The reading will be Russell Hoban‘s Angelica Lost and Found. A virtual friend complimented a short bit of writing I did as part of a collaborative story involving 26 virtual friends in all. (It’s a birthday prezzie for a 27th virtual friend of ours!) He said that it reminded him of Russell Hoban. I had to look up the name. I then  remembered reading an article a while back in The Guardian‘s books Review section on the author and his novel Riddley Walker. Intrigued, I checked out the only novel of his readily available at the library. So I can add it to the (literally) tens of books I have on the go at the moment! The ones I am actually making some headway with are Vikram Seth’s An Equal Music, Stephen King’s Bag of Bones and Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman’s Good Omens.

NB Since healing someone with a connection to a cast member last year, myself and family have been addicted to Emmerdale. But we find it a mystery as to why Coca Cola, J2O and the entire panoply of soft drink beverages that are readily available in the rest of the UK’s pubs have not yet reached everyone’s favourite Yorkshire village?! Whenever anyone isn’t having a pint or a white wine for the ladies or some hard liquor (depending on emotional state and gravitas-level of storyline) they order – almost exclusively – orange juice at the Woolpack Pub. One or two characters occasionally have a lemonade (the devil-may-care, life-in-the-fast-lane, rock’n’rolling types that they are!) but nobody ever touches any other kind of soft drink. (Ok… the occasional mineral water, perhaps. But that’s it!) It’s as if nobody in Emmerdale has ever heard of Irn Bru. Or a double tomato juice with Worcester Sauce and ice! Or any of thousands of other possibilities! In a show which we believe to be documentary-like in its depiction of contemporaneous life in the Yorkshire Dales, this glaring anomaly is ruining our suspension of disbelief! We demand some soft drink verisimilitude from the writers!

Peace, Love&Light to you all (even the orange-juice-drinkers among you!)

Leave a Reply

